top of page

Erykah Badu ‘apologises’ to Iggy Azalea for Soul Train Awards snub


R&B star Erykah Badu penned what some might say was a double-edged apology to rapper Iggy Azalea after snubbing her at the 2015 Soul Awards ceremony two weeks ago.

Badu said she wanted to apologise because her daughters are fans of the Australian musician.

“I wanna apologise to Iggy Azalea because she’s one of their favourite artists and they listen to her all the time; it’s for them, but when I really think about it, if ya’ll love her so much why ya’ll don’t go be with her then?”

During the awards Badu took a fake phone call from Iggy and pretended to refuse to speak to her, saying that Azalea is not a real rapper.

“Who is this?” Erykah said as she answered a flip phone. “Iggy Azalea? Yeah, hey… no, no, no, you can’t come, ’cause what you doin’ is definitely not rap.”

Azalea acknowledged the shade by posting to her Twitter account.

“We are days from 2016, but I came online today and saw its still cool to try and discredit my 2014 accomplishments. LOL, fuc**ng hell,” she wrote.

However, last night Azalea posted an open letter to Badu in a bid to (finally) make peace.

“Hey Erykah,” Azalea wrote. “Tell the kids I’m a big fan of mom, even if we don’t agree where to file my music in their iTunes folders. I’m gonna announce a new tour soon.”

“If they do great in class, there is officially an open invitation extended to them and friends with good report cards to come and enjoy a show anytime. I am 100 percent a woman of my word, and I appreciate the apology.”

Badu later posted to her Twitter in what might be thought of as a response to her apology: “Look.. I choose peace but, say… Don’t walk up on me wrong…This Tea and Incense can turn into Colt 45 and Newports if NEED be.. OK?”

Follow Us
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Twitter Basic Black
Now Trending
bottom of page